Monday, July 18, 2011

Japan 2 (3) - (1) 2 United States

Japanese national women's team managed to become champions in the Women's World Cup by conquering the United States by a shootout 3-1 (2-2) in the finals, Sunday, July 17, 2011 (Monday morning WIB). This title is the first title in Japanese national woman team.

The U.S. previously had been a world champion in 1991 and 1999. While for Japan it was their first final in the Women's World Cup.

Compete at the Commerzbank-Arena, Frankfurt, Germany, Japan's victory should be determined on penalties after a 2-2 draw through extra time. The team's first goal of uncle Sam scored by Alex Morgan in minute 69. However, Japan could offset it scored by Aya Miyama on 81 minutes.

Final goal was to force the extra time 2x15 minutes. The U.S. national team can use it to add one more goal through the 31-year veteran striker, Abby Wambach, at minute 104.

But the U.S. victory is in sight again yanked after Homare Sawa scored the equalizer at minute 117. The match was forced to proceed with the penalties.

Unfortunately the U.S. failed to fulfill the three executioners. In contrast, the four executioners from Japan, only one player who failed. Japan was entitled to the world title for the first time.

Executioner Penalty

Box                          failed
Lloyd                       failed
Heath                       failed
Wambach                goal

Miyama                   goal
Nagasato                 failed
Sakaguchi                goal
Kumagai                  goal

No comments:

Post a Comment